Whole-body infrared delivers infrared light and radiant heat to the entire body rather than to one limb or one foot. At Regenerve it is offered as supportive care inside a plan built around the specific driver of your neuropathy — metabolic, nutritional, autoimmune, toxic or structural — and never as a treatment given on its own.
Two things are true at once, and this page holds both. Infrared therapy devices are not covered by Medicare for peripheral sensory neuropathy, so a course of it is paid out of pocket.2 And the randomized evidence that determination rests on studied a different delivery method, in narrowly selected patients, for a few weeks at a time. Neither fact settles what infrared can do for a specific person, and this page explains why.
Coverage, stated plainly and then set aside
Effective October 24, 2006, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services determined that infrared therapy devices and related accessories are not reasonable and necessary under section 1862(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act. Infrared and near-infrared light and heat, including monochromatic infrared energy, is nationally non-covered for diabetic and non-diabetic peripheral sensory neuropathy, for wounds and ulcers of the skin and subcutaneous tissues, and for symptoms such as pain arising from those conditions. The policy is recorded as national coverage determination 270.6, implemented January 16, 2007.2
You should know this before you start anything, because it decides how the service is paid for. Patients sign an advance beneficiary notice for non-covered services and pay out of pocket. Anyone offering you infrared for neuropathy who implies it will be billed to Medicare is either mistaken or misleading you.
What a coverage determination is not is a clinical finding about your nerves. It is a program’s decision about what it will purchase, made under a legal standard, at a fixed point in time, on the evidence available then. That is a legitimate and important decision, and it is a different question from whether a therapy helps a particular person with a particular driver. The rest of this page deals with the clinical question.
“Infrared” names two different things
The word covers a wide band, and the distinction is not cosmetic. It decides which studies apply to what you are being offered.
Contact pad devices
These are arrays of infrared diodes mounted on flexible pads that are strapped against the skin of the foot and lower leg. This is the device the 2006 coverage determination describes and regulates, under the durable medical equipment benefit category.2 It is also, with very few exceptions, what the randomized neuropathy literature studied. In this field the technique is usually called monochromatic infrared energy.
Whole-body radiant infrared
This is a cabin or enclosure that raises body temperature with radiant infrared. There is no pad, no fixed wavelength delivered to a target tissue, and a very different dose to a very different volume of tissue. In regulatory terms, infrared lamps emit across roughly 700 to 50,000 nanometers and are intended to provide topical heating.3
When you are comparing what is on offer, ask which of these two you are actually buying. A study of pads at 890 nanometers on the sole of a foot does not automatically describe a warm cabin, in either direction.

What the randomized trials found, and who was in them
A 2017 systematic review and meta-analysis in the Brazilian Journal of Physical Therapy pooled six randomized controlled trials, 304 patients with diabetic sensorimotor polyneuropathy, and 594 feet.4 It is the most useful single place to see this body of work, and its own rules define the boundary of what it can speak to.
The review included randomized trials of light-emitting diodes in the 750 to 1300 nanometer range. It excluded, by rule, any trial in which the intervention was applied to a region other than the feet, and any trial with fewer than three days of intervention.4 Every device in it was a pad set placed on the foot and lower leg, at 870 to 890 nanometers, delivering 1.30 to 1.95 joules per square centimeter per minute. Follow-up ran from one and a half to twelve weeks, with a median of four weeks.4
The pooled result
Across four trials and 402 feet, infrared did not increase the number of plantar regions sensitive to the 5.07 monofilament compared with control: standardized mean difference 0.22, 95% confidence interval −0.07 to 0.51.4 A subgroup with follow-up of two weeks or less did show a gain, standardized mean difference 0.41, 95% confidence interval 0.18 to 0.64, and that gain was not present beyond two weeks, standardized mean difference −0.12, 95% confidence interval −0.50 to 0.26. The difference between those subgroups was itself statistically significant at p = 0.02.4
For pain, once a non-blinded trial was set aside, pain fell less in the infrared groups than in the sham groups: mean difference 0.40 points, 95% confidence interval 0.30 to 0.68.4 The review’s authors offer a specific reading of that, which is worth knowing: in a nerve that is losing fibers, restoring some sensitivity can restore the ability to feel pain, and falling pain scores in this disease are not always good news.4 Using the GRADE system, the authors rated the overall certainty of evidence as low for both outcomes, meaning further studies are likely to change the estimate.4
The largest and longest of the trials
A 2008 double-blind, sham-controlled trial in Diabetes Care randomized 69 people with diabetes; 60 patients and 120 limbs completed. Units were used at home for 40 minutes a day for 90 days. The investigators measured nerve conduction velocities, vibration perception threshold, four grades of Semmes-Weinstein monofilament, the Michigan Neuropathy Screening Instrument, a 10 cm visual analog pain scale and a neuropathy-specific quality of life instrument. There were no significant differences between active and sham on any of them.5
The eligibility rule that matters here is explicit in the published report: entry required a vibration perception threshold between 20 and 45 volts.5 That is a severity band. People with milder loss below that band, and people with the most profound loss above it, were not enrolled. We were not able to obtain the full eligibility list from the publisher, so we do not describe further exclusions beyond the one the report states.
The trial where both groups improved
A 2005 randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study in Diabetes Care followed 39 subjects with diabetic peripheral neuropathy through 30 minutes of active or placebo infrared three times a week for four weeks, then four weeks with no treatment. The number of sites sensing the 5.07 monofilament rose significantly in both the active and the placebo groups, and there were no significant differences between the groups at any measurement point.6
The Medicare review of this trial recorded the size of that placebo movement: about +0.37 sites in the active arm and +0.57 sites in the sham arm over the blinded phase, roughly 39% and 40% above baseline.3 This is the single most useful thing in the whole literature. It is why a clinic showing you before-and-after numbers with no control group has shown you nothing, and it applies to enthusiastic reports about any modality, not only this one.
The trial that separated symptoms from structure
A 2021 randomized sham-controlled study in Neurology India enrolled 38 participants with type 2 diabetes and painful diabetic peripheral neuropathy; 30 completed. Treatment was three times a week for 12 weeks, with intraepidermal nerve fiber density measured on 3 mm skin punch biopsy at baseline and at 12 weeks. Mean age was 59.1 years, mean diabetes duration 12.9 years, and mean symptom duration 3.9 months.7
Nerve fiber density did not increase with treatment. Pain did move: median visual analog scale decline of 5.1 points with infrared against 3.0 points with sham, intergroup p = 0.01, with a quality of life difference on the Norfolk instrument at p = 0.021. The authors concluded that infrared does not increase nerve fiber density over short-term use, but does provide symptomatic benefit and improved quality of life.7
This is the most informative single trial for a patient deciding what to expect, and it is also the clearest example of a narrow population. Mean symptom duration was under four months. People with years of symptoms, people with type 1 diabetes, and people whose neuropathy is not diabetic at all were not in it.
The smallest of the randomized trials
A 2011 single-blinded randomized controlled trial in the Singapore Medical Journal studied 30 feet from 24 patients, randomized to 12 daily infrared or sham treatments, with current perception threshold measured by neurometer at 2,000 Hz, 250 Hz and 5 Hz, reassessed at six weeks and three months. No significant difference was found between the infrared and sham feet.8 The published report does not state a full exclusion list that we could obtain.
The other side of the argument
A 2023 systematic review in Current Diabetes Reviews took a wider view of photobiomodulation in diabetic peripheral neuropathy. Across eight included studies in people with type 2 diabetes, it reported improvement in neuropathic pain and in nerve conduction velocity, along with reduced plantar pressure distribution, and its authors concluded that photobiomodulation is an effective, non-invasive option in this condition.9
That conclusion is real and it belongs on this page. So does its basis: the review deliberately included both randomized and non-randomized studies,9 and uncontrolled designs are exactly where the placebo movement described above does its damage. It is a narrative synthesis rather than a pooled estimate, and it is confined to type 2 diabetes. A reader is entitled to weigh it. A reader is not entitled to be told it settles the question.
Two independent groups have registered protocols for new systematic reviews in this area, one published in BMJ Open in 2022 and one in PLOS ONE in 2024, both specifying randomized trials, pain as a primary outcome, and nerve conduction, sensation, quality of life and adverse events among the secondary outcomes.110 Protocols describe what a good answer would look like. They are not themselves answers. But two of them, registered fifteen years after a coverage determination, are a fair signal that researchers consider the question open rather than closed.
What the 2006 decision was actually based on
Coverage decisions are documents, and this one is public. Reading it is more useful than repeating its conclusion.
Before the analysis there was no national determination on these devices; local Medicare durable medical equipment contractors already carried identical non-coverage policies. In the peripheral neuropathy literature, the analysis identified 14 studies, of which 11 had an infrared monotherapy arm. Only three of those were placebo-controlled with a contemporaneous parallel group. All three were double-blinded and used sham devices, and they enrolled 18, 43 and 50 patients respectively.3
The blinded treatment periods in those three trials were two weeks in one and four weeks in the other two. Between them they tested only two wavelengths, 890 and 905 nanometers. No investigator carried out dose-ranging for energy density, frequency of dosing or duration of dosing, and none varied pulsatility or duty cycle. None assessed long-term durability of any effect. None used hard clinical endpoints such as ulceration or amputation rate.3 The analysis stated that despite an exhaustive search it identified no high-quality randomized phase III trials with hard clinical endpoints, and that a major placebo effect precluded confident interpretation of the many studies in which patients served as their own controls.3 It also noted that two large trials were then in progress and could not be reviewed because they were not yet complete or published.3
That is a defensible decision on that record. It is also a decision about three small, short, single-wavelength trials of a contact pad device.
What has changed since
Four of the six trials in the 2017 meta-analysis were published after the determination took effect.4 Trial durations extended from four weeks to 90 days5 and to 12 weeks.7 Outcome measures widened from monofilament counts to nerve conduction velocity and quality of life5 and then to intraepidermal nerve fiber density on skin biopsy.7
The overall picture did not reverse. The pooled estimate for sensation remains null with low certainty, and the pain estimate does not favor infrared.4 The genuine additions on the other side are a symptom and quality of life signal without a structural change,7 and a narrative review reporting benefit from a mixed body of randomized and non-randomized studies.9
What has not changed
The coverage policy itself. The public record for national coverage determination 270.6 shows maintenance updates for ICD-10 coding in 2015 and 2017 with no policy change, and states that the determination was last reviewed in November 2006.2 Anyone claiming a recent shift in Medicare’s position on infrared for neuropathy is describing something that is not in the record.
Three research gaps also remain exactly where they were. There is still no phase III trial with hard clinical endpoints. There is still no dose-ranging study establishing what energy density, session length or course length would even be the right thing to test. And there is still no randomized trial of whole-body delivery in peripheral neuropathy at all — the pooled review excluded application to any region other than the feet as a matter of its own eligibility rules.4
That last point needs saying carefully, because it is easy to abuse in both directions. An absence of trials of whole-body infrared is not evidence that whole-body infrared works. It is also not what the null pad-device results measured. It is a gap, and a gap is a reason for modest expectations and honest conversation, not a reason for confidence either way.
The patients these trials did not study
Randomized trials earn their authority by controlling variation, and they control it by selecting who gets in. That selection is visible in this literature wherever the reports state it.
- A severity band. The 90-day home-use trial required a vibration perception threshold between 20 and 45 volts.5 Milder and more profound loss were both outside it.
- A region rule. The 2017 meta-analysis excluded any trial applying the intervention outside the feet, and any trial shorter than three days.4
- An early-symptom population. The nerve fiber density trial enrolled people with a mean symptom duration of 3.9 months and a mean diabetes duration of 12.9 years, all with type 2 diabetes.7
- One form of diabetes. The 2023 photobiomodulation review was restricted to type 2 diabetes.9
For several of these trials the complete eligibility and exclusion list was not obtainable from the publisher. Where that is the case we have not guessed at exclusions, and this page does not assert any criterion a report does not state.
What is verifiable is what the designs did not test. None of these trials studied infrared in someone whose insulin resistance was being actively treated, whose B12 deficiency had just been corrected, whose autoimmune driver had been identified, or whose toxic exposure had been removed. None enrolled a person carrying several drivers at once alongside a long medication list. And every one of them tested infrared alone against a sham, on a fixed schedule, for a few weeks.
So a null result in a selected population, for one modality used by itself, for a short period, tells you what it tells you: that this device, at these settings, in these people, over this interval, did not beat sham on these measures. It does not establish what happens in the patients who were screened out, and it does not describe a therapy used as one element of a plan rather than as the plan. That is the ordinary difference between efficacy under trial conditions and effectiveness in practice.
It cuts both ways, and we say so. The same reasoning that stops a null trial from closing the question also stops it from being a license to assume benefit. Where nobody has measured, nobody knows.
Heat, circulation and what is genuinely established
There is a real reason clinicians are interested in heat and blood flow, and it is separate from the neuropathy trials above.
What the heat therapy evidence shows
A 2021 systematic review and meta-analysis in Experimental Physiology pooled 15 studies of heat therapy in healthy and clinical populations, with exposures of 30 to 90 minutes over 10 to 36 sessions. Compared with control, heat therapy reduced mean arterial pressure by 5.86 mmHg, systolic blood pressure by 3.94 mmHg and diastolic blood pressure by 3.88 mmHg, and improved brachial artery flow-mediated dilatation by 1.95%. Resting heart rate was unchanged. Certainty was rated moderate for the blood pressure outcomes and low for mean arterial pressure and flow-mediated dilatation.11
Those are cardiovascular outcomes in a body of work about heat therapy broadly. Not one of them is a nerve measurement. It is a reasonable mechanistic reason to be interested in whole-body heat for people whose neuropathy has a microvascular component, and it is not evidence of nerve benefit. We do not present it as such and neither should anyone else.
The vasa nervorum question
Peripheral nerves are fed by very small vessels, the vasa nervorum, and the longest nerves in the body depend on the most fragile end of that supply. Oxygen delivery is a genuine bottleneck in metabolic neuropathy, which is why interventions that change local blood flow attract attention.
Warmth causes vasodilation. That much is uncontroversial. Whether raising whole-body temperature on a schedule produces a durable change in nerve function is a different claim, and it has not been established in a randomized trial in this condition.
Metabolic stress
Infrared is sometimes described as modulating metabolic stress in nerve tissue. We have not located trial evidence testing that claim in people with peripheral neuropathy, so we do not make it, and we do not use it as a reason to defer the metabolic and nutritional work that does have evidence behind it.
Safety when protective sensation is reduced
This is not a theoretical concern and it is specific to heat.
Insensitivity in diabetic peripheral neuropathy increases the risk of burns, injuries and foot ulceration.12 The mechanism is simple: the warning system that tells you something is too hot is the same system the disease has damaged. In the infrared literature itself, the Medicare review recorded that two patients in one trial incurred superficial burns under the device pads.3
That is why heat-based therapy in neuropathy belongs under clinical supervision, with skin inspected before and after sessions, with session parameters set by someone who has measured how much sensation you have lost, and with a low threshold for stopping. It is also why a home device bought online, used by a person who cannot feel a burn forming, is a different risk profile from a supervised session.
Where whole-body infrared sits in a plan at Regenerve
Regenerve is directed by Dr. Gurpreet Singh Padda, MD, MBA, MHP. Whole-body infrared is one of the modalities available here, alongside class 4 photobiomodulation, class 3B cold laser, and metabolic and nutritional care. Electrodiagnostic testing (EMG/NCS) is performed on site. VNG is used as a diagnostic test of inner-ear balance function when unsteadiness is part of the picture; it is a test, not a treatment.
None of it is prescribed before the driver is mapped. Peripheral neuropathy is a category, not a diagnosis, and the sequence matters more than the equipment list — a point covered in the hidden drivers of peripheral neuropathy.
What we tell patients about infrared specifically
We tell them the coverage status, so there is no billing surprise. We tell them the trial evidence is for a pad device on the feet, that it is null on sensation over the durations studied, and that the one trial measuring nerve fiber density found no structural change while reporting symptom and quality of life benefit. We tell them no randomized trial has studied the whole-body form at all. We describe what we expect it to contribute — comfort, warmth, tolerance for the activity and metabolic work that carry the plan — and we say plainly that we are not claiming it repairs nerves.
We set a review point before starting, we agree on what would count as a change, and we stop if nothing changes. We do not promise that nerve damage can be regenerated or reversed, and we publish no success rate for any Regenerve protocol.
“My ethos is to treat all of my patients as I would my own family, with the goal of giving them back their quality of life.” — Dr. Gurpreet Singh Padda, MD, MBA, MHP
Questions worth asking before starting a course
- Is this a contact pad device at a stated wavelength and dose, or whole-body radiant heat? The published trials are about the first one.
- How was my neuropathy driver identified before this was recommended, and what testing was used?
- What outcome will be measured, with what instrument, and at what interval?
- How is my reduced ability to feel heat being accounted for in the protocol, and who inspects my skin?
- Is this being offered as one part of a plan, or as the plan?
- What is the review point, and at what stage do we stop?
- Am I signing an advance beneficiary notice, and what will I owe?
Start with the Nerve Damage Score
The Nerve Damage Score is five questions and it is free. It points to which driver to chase first, which is the only thing that makes any decision about infrared meaningful.
Regenerve, 4477 Woodson Rd #104, St. Louis, MO 63134. Call or text (314) 886-5902, or email info@regenerve.com. We are minutes from St. Louis Lambert International Airport and see patients from across the St. Louis region, Missouri and Illinois, including Edwardsville, Glen Carbon, Collinsville, Troy and Maryville.
Frequently asked questions
Is whole-body infrared therapy proven to treat peripheral neuropathy?
Not in the sense of a proven treatment. The randomized trials in this area studied contact pad devices on the feet and lower legs, and a 2017 meta-analysis of six of them found a short-term gain in monofilament sensation that was not sustained, on low-certainty evidence. No randomized trial has tested whole-body delivery in peripheral neuropathy, so for that specific form there is an evidence gap rather than a negative finding. Medicare has classified infrared therapy devices as non-covered for peripheral sensory neuropathy since 2006, so it is paid out of pocket. We use it as supportive care inside a driver-directed plan, never as the treatment. See what we actually provide on site.
Does infrared help if my neuropathy is diabetic?
Diabetic peripheral neuropathy is driven by metabolic and microvascular injury, so the work that changes the trajectory is metabolic. One 12-week sham-controlled trial in painful diabetic neuropathy reported symptom and quality of life benefit with no increase in nerve fiber density, which is a fair description of what to expect: infrared may make you more comfortable while the metabolic work does the structural job. It does not substitute for that work. See diabetic peripheral neuropathy treatment in St. Louis.
Will infrared help if my neuropathy comes from a B12 deficiency?
It will not correct the deficiency, and correcting the deficiency is the point. Heat and light do nothing about absorption, intake, or the medications that interfere with B12. Infrared can sit alongside that correction for comfort; it cannot replace it. See functional B12 deficiency and neuropathy.
What about gluten-related neuropathy?
Same answer, different mechanism. If an immune reaction to gluten is driving the nerve injury, the intervention that matters is dietary and immunologic, not thermal. Note also that people with non-diabetic drivers were not enrolled in the infrared trials at all, so there is no trial evidence either way for this group. See the gluten and neuropathy connection.
My nerve conduction study was normal but my feet still burn. Would infrared help?
A normal conduction study with ongoing burning points toward small fiber involvement, which standard nerve conduction testing often does not capture. The next step is a workup matched to that pattern rather than another modality, because a modality chosen before the driver is identified is a guess. See small fiber neuropathy symptoms and testing.
Sources
- Wang JY, Huang ZQ, Deng HP, Zhao L, Deng HY, Liu JP, Shen XY, Cheng K. Low level light therapy/photobiomodulation for diabetic peripheral neuropathy: protocol of a systematic review and meta-analysis. BMJ Open. 2022;12(9):e059476. pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. National Coverage Determination 270.6, Infrared Therapy Devices. Effective 24 October 2006; implemented 16 January 2007. Medicare Coverage Database. cms.gov
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Decision Memorandum for Infrared Therapy Devices (CAG-00291N). Medicare Coverage Database. 24 October 2006. cms.gov
- Robinson CC, Klahr PDS, Stein C, Falavigna M, Sbruzzi G, Plentz RDM. Effects of monochromatic infrared phototherapy in patients with diabetic peripheral neuropathy: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Brazilian Journal of Physical Therapy. 2017;21(4):233-243. pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lavery LA, Murdoch DP, Williams J, Lavery DC. Does anodyne light therapy improve peripheral neuropathy in diabetes? A double-blind, sham-controlled, randomized trial to evaluate monochromatic infrared photoenergy. Diabetes Care. 2008;31(2):316-321. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Clifft JK, Kasser RJ, Newton TS, Bush AJ. The effect of monochromatic infrared energy on sensation in patients with diabetic peripheral neuropathy: a double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Diabetes Care. 2005;28(12):2896-2900. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Rastogi A, Uppula P, Saikia U, Bhansali A. Effect of monochromatic infrared energy on quality of life and intraepidermal nerve fiber density in painful diabetic neuropathy: a randomized, sham control study. Neurology India. 2021;69(5):1331-1337. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Nawfar SA, Yacob NB. Effects of monochromatic infrared energy therapy on diabetic feet with peripheral sensory neuropathy: a randomised controlled trial. Singapore Medical Journal. 2011;52(9):669-672. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Korada HY, Arora E, Maiya GA, Rao S, Hande M, Shetty S, Gundmi S, Anche P, Amravadi S. Effectiveness of photobiomodulation therapy on neuropathic pain, nerve conduction and plantar pressure distribution in diabetic peripheral neuropathy: a systematic review. Current Diabetes Reviews. 2023;19(9):e290422204244. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Fan X, Yan G, Cao J, Zhao Y, Wang Y, Wang X, Mi J. Effectiveness and safety of photobiomodulation therapy in diabetic peripheral neuropathy: protocol for a systematic review and meta-analysis. PLOS ONE. 2024;19(8):e0308537. pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Pizzey FK, Smith EC, Ruediger SL, Keating SE, Askew CD, Coombes JS, Bailey TG. The effect of heat therapy on blood pressure and peripheral vascular function: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Experimental Physiology. 2021;106(6):1317-1334. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Tesfaye S, Selvarajah D. Advances in the epidemiology, pathogenesis and management of diabetic peripheral neuropathy. Diabetes/Metabolism Research and Reviews. 2012;28 Suppl 1:8-14. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov














